Skip to content

Officers of the Church

Ordination has existed since the earliest forms of the church as a way of distinguishing those who have particular unique callings from God to serve Christ in the church.In most denominations, only clergy–trained and authorized ministers of the Word and sacrament–are ordained. One of the most important hallmarks of a Presbyterian (USA) church, however, is the ordination of non-clergy to offices of church service. The PCUSA ordains clergy (teaching elders), elders (ruling elders) and deacons. Clergy and ruling elders serve coequally on the governing council of the church, called the Session. Deacons are called to ministries of care, service, and compassion. Trustees are not ordained, but manage many of the key business functions of the church.

SSPC Trustees & Deacons

Session Officers:
Peggy Wadley (Clerk)
Sam Moore (Treasurer)

Class of 2024

George Bristol
Sharon LeMond
Carol Stalcup

Robby Fultz
Peggy Harwood
Harriett Moore
Marshall Ray

Class of 2025

Molly Hale
Nancy Menking
Steve Midgley

Sue Anderson
Jane Hawkins
Darlene Housewright
Carolyn Kirkland

Class of 2026 

Matt Loynachan
Jerry Moody
Mike Tyson

Angela Hines
Marie Hoffman
Darlene Myatt
Debra Nyul

Session Officers, Committee Assignments

Feel free to direct any questions you may have about these areas to the committee chair. Emails are listed in the online church directory.

Budget & Finance
Ron Adams (’25) chair
Jack Hunnicutt (’24)

Christian Education
Courtney Mullins (’25) chair
Brandy Scott (’26)

Peggy Kennedy (’26) chair
Morgan Polly (’24)

CWNC – Church-Wide Nominating Committee
Rogers Davis (’26) chair
Betty Arvin (’24)

Jane Ann Janssen (’25) chair
Anne Bourland (’26)
Madeleine Gil, Youth Elder (’24)

Laure Sandefur (’24) chair

Brian Wheeler (’25) chair
Cynthia Walker (’24)


Bruce Campbell (’25) chair
Angela Springfield (’26)

Lars Berg (’24)
Bill Curtis (’25) chair

Eduardo Calderon (’26), Chair
Eli Polly, Youth Elder (’24)


Service Times

During the summer, we have one service at 10 a.m. 

The rest of the year we have two services; on at 8:30 a.m. and then 11 a.m. 

Ⓒ 2019 - All Rights Are Reserved