Skip to content

Officers of the Church Ordained, Commissioned, and Installed

At St. Stephen Presbyterian Church, any pledging member of the congregation who attends services regularly and participates in the work of the church is eligible to serve. Officers are governed and guided by the Book of Order and the policies set down by the Session. New officer training is held during the Sunday school hour in the fall. Terms begin January 1st, and run for three years.

Ordination has existed since the earliest forms of the church as a way of distinguishing those who have particular unique callings from God to serve Christ in the church. In most denominations, only clergy–trained and authorized ministers of the Word and sacrament–are ordained. One of the most important hallmarks of a Presbyterian (USA) church, however, is the ordination of non-clergy to offices of church service. The PCUSA ordains clergy (teaching elders), elders (ruling elders) and deacons who are called by God through the voice of the congregation. Clergy and ruling elders serve coequally on the governing council of the church, called the Session. Deacons are called to ministries of care, service, and compassion. Trustees are not ordained, but manage many of the key business functions of the church.

For 2021, the officers of the church are:

Rev. Dr. Fritz Ritsch, Moderator

Peggy Wadley, Clerk of Session


  • Sam Moore, Steve Midgley (Budget/Finance/Stewardship Committee)
  • Mara Miller (Christian Education Committee)
  • Marilyn Jones, Carol Vance (Church Wide Nominating Committee)
  • Anne Bourland, Lee Mallart (Fellowship Committee)
  • Roger Davis, Nanette Monte (Membership Committee)
  • Peggy Kennedy (Communication Committee)
  • Darlene Myatt, Bill Lamour, Becca Dehn (Mission Committee)
  • Bill Curtis, Betty Arvin (Personnel Committee)
  • Eduardo Calderon, Sam Montee (Property Committee)
  • Angela Springfield, Harlan Kats (Worship Committee)
  • Becca Dehn (Youth Elders)
  • Sam Moore (Church Treasurer)


  • David Alverson
  • Karla Campbell
  • Melissa Forsythe
  • Jane Anne Janssen
  • Amy Kats
  • Debra Nyul
  • Charlotte Ray
  • Laurie Sandefur
  • Julia Sloan
  • Cherie Wheeler
  • Lynn Wilson (Liaison)
  • Mary Witt


  • Kurt Anderson
  • Lars Berg
  • Rick Bender
  • Jim Hille
  • Matt Loynachan
  • Mark Thielman
  • Mike Tyson
  • John Walters
  • Bill Warren